The Faculty of Perioperative Care Annual Conference

09:30–10:00	Registration and coffee	
10:00–10:10	Welcome & Introduction	J Duncan
SESSION 1 GUIDANCE & SUPPORT FOR THE PERIOPERATIVE PRACTITIONER (CHAIR: S HALL)		
10:10–10:30	Surgical First Assistant: Current Position & Implications for Perioperative Practice	M Guckian-Fisher
10:30–10:50	Surgical Care Practitioner: Who should be my Line Manager?	C Woodard
10:50–11:10	The Benefits of Belonging to a Specialty Association	C Birkett
11:10–11:30	Refreshment break & Exhibitors	
SESSION 2 BEST PRACTICE: LESSONS TO BE LEARNT (CHAIR: R PATON)		
11:30–12:00	Informed Consent: Beware of the Law	S Parsons
12:00–12:30	Patient Safety for the Extended Surgical Team	J Ward
12:30–13:30	Lunch & Exhibitors	
SESSION 3 INTERFACE OF THE SURGEON / PRACTITIONER (CHAIR: E FAREN)		
13:30–14:30	The SCP / Surgeon Relationship The SFA / Surgeon Relationship	A Jones E Pessoa & R James
14:30–14:50	Refreshment break & Exhibitors	
SESSION 4 WORKING TOGETHER FOR THE NHS (CHAIR: C D AULD)		
14:50–15:20	The Perioperative Practitioner: What is the Effect on Training of Surgical Trainees	R Delicata
15:20–15:50	Physician Associates: Are they the Answer to the NHS Crisis?	J Watkins
15:50–16:00	Closing remarks	C Auld

Speakers and Chairpersons

Mr Charles D Auld

Council Lead for Perioperative Care RCSEd (Co-Convenor)

Ms Chrissie Birkett

President Association of Cardiac Surgical Assistants (ACSA), Lead Surgical Care Practitioner, Cardiac Surgery, University Hospital Birmingham

Professor John L Duncan

Vice President, The Royal College of Surgeons of Edinburgh

Mr Ray Delicata

Consultant Surgeon, Aneurin Bevan University Health Board, RSA Wales

Ms Elizabeth Faren

Assistant Divisional Nurse Manager, Surgical Division, Raigmore Hospital

Mrs Mona Guckian Fisher

Past President Association for Perioperative Practice (AfPP)

Mrs Susan Hall

Co-lead Advancing Surgical Roles Group Association for Perioperative Practice (AfPP), Senior Lecturer in Surgical Care Practice, Anglia Ruskin University (Co-convenor)

Ms Ruth James

Consultant Breast Surgeon, Luton & Dunstable University Hospital

Mr Adrian Jones

President Association for Perioperative Practice (AfPP)

Professor Robin Paton

Consultant Orthopaedic Surgeon, East Lancashire Hospitals NHS Trust, Royal Blackburn Hospital

Mr Simon Parsons

Consultant Surgeon, Honorary Associate Professor University of Nottingham, Co-director EIDO Healthcare

Ms Elizabete Pessoa

Surgical First Assistant, Luton and Dunstable University Hospital

Mr Jeremy Ward

Consultant Surgeon, Lancashire Teaching Hospitals, Chair of the SSB in General Surgery, RCSEd

Ms Jeannie Watkins

President Faculty of Physicians' Associates, RCP, London, Senior Lecturer St George's University of London

Mr Colin Woodard

Lead SCP, The Essex Cardiothoracic Centre Basildon and Thurrock University Hospitals NHS Trust